Home » Departments and Centres » Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies » Professors and Scholars » Fellows

Fellows - Academic Year 2016/17

Jean Monnet Fellows 

 

Beukers, Thomas

The Netherlands’ Ministry of Foreign Affairs

The Future of EMU: Constitutional and Legal Challenges 

Associated to and partially funded by the ADEMU project

Email: thomas.beukers@eui.eu   
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 734   
Office: Villa Raimondi, VR032

Thomas Beukers
 

 

Cooper, Robert Ian

European University Institute

The Representation of Parliaments in the European Union 

(Global Governance Programme)

Email: ian.cooper@eui.eu   
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 988   
Office: Casale, CA008

CooperRobert
BioButton
 

 

Gofas, Andreas

Panteion University

The Origins of Transnational Terrorist Waves 

Email: andreas.gofas@eui.eu   
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 764   
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS074

Andreas Gofas
BioButton
 

 

Heupel, Monika

University of Bamberg

Western Democracies and Extraterritorial Human Rights Violations

Email: monika.heupel@eui.eu   
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 965   
Office: Casale, CA008

Monika Heupel
BioButton
 

 

Kaya, Ayhan

Istanbul Bilgi University

De-Europeanization of Turkish Asylum and Migration Policies: The Unfolding of the Syrian Refugee Crisis 

Email: ayhan.kaya@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 765  
Office: Casale, CA008

Kaya-Ayhan
BioButton
 

 

Piluso, Giandomenico

University of Siena

Central Banking, International Cooperation and Europe: A Structure of Policy for Stability and Integration (1920-1975) 

Email: giandomenico.piluso@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 684  
Office: Villa Raimondi, VR032

Giandomenico Piluso
 

 

Renton, James

Edge Hill University 

The European Idea of the Middle East and the Question of Power in the 21st Century 

Email: james.renton@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 980  
Office: Casale, CA008

James Renton
BioButton
 

 

Shingal, Anirudh

University of Bern

Causes and Effects of Discrimination in the Award of Government Contracts: Evidence from India 

Email: anirudh.shingal@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 967  
Office: Casale, CA008

Anirudh Shingal
 

 

Steinbach, Armin

Max-Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods

Enhancing Economic Policy Coordination Within the Existing EU Legal Framework: Exploring Incentive-Based and Insurance-Type Coordination Mechanisms 

Associated to and partially funded by the ADEMU project

Email: armin.steinbach@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 981  
Office: Villa Raimondi, VR032

Armin Steinbach
 

 

Sus, Monika Ewa

Hertie School of Governance

Inventors and Gatekeepers: EU Member States and the EEAS. How to Explain the Ambiguity and Find a Model for Cooperation? 

Email: monika.sus@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 874  
Office: Casale, CA008

Monika Sus
 

 

 

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellows (and similar)    

 

Debono, Daniela

(Visiting Fellow with International Postdoctoral Fellowship of the Swedish Research Council)

Malmö University

Daily encounters at the border: reception in the EU and irregular migrants arriving by sea

Email: daniela.debono@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 984
Office: Villino, VL029

February 2016 – December 2017

DebonoDaniela
BioButton
 

 

Kuschminder, Katie

(Research Fellow with Rubicon Grant of the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research)

Destination or in Transit? Decision making factors of Syrian and Nigerian migrants in Italy

Email: katie.kuschminder@eui.eu  
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 718
Office: Villino, VL035

KuschminderKatie
 

 

Nori, Michele

TRA_MED patterns of pastoral migrations in the Mediterranean region

(Migration Policy Centre

Email: michele.nori@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 736 
Office: Villa Malafrasca, VM018

 

 

Scrinzi, Francesca

Migration, Religion and Work in Comparative Perspective: Evangelical ‘ethnic churches’ in Southern Europe

Email: francesca.scrinzi@eui.eu  
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 833  
Office: Villino, VL028

scrinzi
BioButton
 

 

Weinar, Agnieszka

European Emigration Governance – Emigration and Diaspora Policies and Discourses in the Post-Crisis Era

(Migration Policy Centre)

Email: agnieszka.weinar@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 766  
Office: Villino, VL029

20120203weinar
 

 

 

Max Weber Fellows     

 

Basedow, Johann Robert

London School of Economics

International Regulatory Cooperation and the Future of Multilateralism 

Email: johann.basedow@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 317 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS091

Robert Basedow
 

 

Calò, Silvia

European University Institute

Fiscal Devolution and International Macroeconomics in the EU

(Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa Chair)

Email: silvia.calo@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 647 
Office: Villa Raimondi, VR028

CaloSilvia
BioButton
 

 

Faini, Matteo

New America Foundation

Can You Keep a Secret? Intelligence Cooperation in the Transatlantic Community 

Email: matteo.faini@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 332 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS091

Matteo Faini
 

 

Gade, Tine

University of Oslo

Minorization and Political Leadership: Explo-ring the Causes of the Crisis of Middle Eastern Sunnism 

Email: tine.gade@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 336 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS091

Tine Gade
 

 

Katsaitis, Alexander

University College London

Which Interest Groups Finance EU Political Parties & Foundations? And Why?  

Email: alexander.katsaitis@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 338 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS091

Alexander Katsaitis
 

 

Lanati, Mauro

European University Institute

On the Link Between Foreign Aid and Migration

Email: mauro.lanati@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 877 
Office: Villa Raimondi, VR028

LanatiMauro
 

 

Lemière, Sophie

European University Institute

Politics in a Grey Zone: Connivance Militancy in Malaysia and Tunisia

Email: sophie.lemiere@eui.eu   
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 947   
Office: Villa Raimondi, VR028

LemiereSophie
 

 

Marcuzzi, Stefano

University of Oxford

EU-NATO Relations in the Mediterranean Evolution and Future Steps 

Email: stefano.marcuzzi@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 390 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS091

Stefano Marcuzzi
 

 

Seelkopf, Laura

University of Bremen

The Political Economy of Taxation and Inequality 

Email: laura.seelkopf@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 704 
Office: Villa Raimondi, VR028

Laura Seelkopf
BioButton
 

 

Winslett, Gary

Boston College

Regulatory Trade Barriers in Goods 

Email: gary.winslett@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 414 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS091

 

 

  

EU and EP Fellows 

   

Lehmann, Wilhelm

European Parliament

Empowerment through representation: the political history of European elections and their institutional impact

Email: wilhelm.lehmann@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 983
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS075

March 2016 – August 2017

LehmannWilhelm
 

 

Szűcs, Tamás

European Commission

The Transformative Power of Culture in Creating a More Inclusive EU 

Email: tamas.szucs@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 910
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS071

September 2016 – June 2017

Tamas Szucs
BioButton
 

 

 

Visiting Fellows   

 

Annicchino, Pasquale

European University Institute

The Geopolitical Dimension of Religious Radicalization 

Email: pasquale.annicchino@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 882 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS053

September 2016 – May 2017

Pasquale Annicchino
 

 

Bardi, Luciano

University of Pisa

EUDO Observatory on Political Parties and Representation 

Email: luciano.bardi@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 772 
Office: Casale, CA011

September 2016 – August 2017

Bardi
 

 

Borges, Danielle

Rio de Janeiro Law School of Getulio Vargas Foudation 

Migration and Access to Healthcare 

Email: danielle.borges@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 753 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS063

September 2016 – June 2017

Danielle Borges
 

 

Boussaguet, Laurie 

University of Rouen 

Symbolic Politics; Participatory Mechanisms in EU Governance; Decision – Making in Public Policy

Email: laurie.boussaguet@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 827 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS078

September 2016 – July 2017

Laurie Boussaguet
 

 

Bressanelli, Edoardo 

King’s College London 

The European Parliament and the New Intergovernmental Union: Shadow of the Council? 

January – April 2017

Edoardo Bressanelli
 

 

Cicchi, Lorenzo 

University of Pisa 

EUDO Observatory on Political Parties and Representation

Email: lorenzo.cicchi@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 669 
Office: Casale, CA011

September 2016 – August 2017

Lorenzo Cicchi
 

 

Connolly, Sara 

University of East Anglia 

Understanding the EU Civil Service

16 March – 15 April 2017 

 

 

De Feo, Alfredo

European Parliament

The History of Budgetary Powers and Politics in the EU

Email: alfredo.defeo@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 893
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS080

October 2014 – December 2016

DeFeoAlfredo
 

 

Dumbrovsky, Tomas

Charles University Prague 

The European Republic

Email: tomas.dumbrovsky@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 446 
Office: Villino, VL030

September 2016 – July 2017

DumbrovskyTomas
 

 

Garzia, Diego

University of Lausanne

European Union Democracy Observatory

Email: diego.garzia@eui.eu 
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 669 
Office: Casale, CA011

September 2016 – August 2017

GarziaDiego
BioButton
 

 

Greskovits, Bela 

Central European University 

Organized Labor’s Responses to the Great Recession on Europe’s Peripheries 

Email: bela.greskovits@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 580 
Office: Villino, VL024

September 2016 – August 2018 

Bela Greskovits
 

 

Hedberg, Masha

European University Institute 

The Political Economy of EU-Russia Relations

Email: masha.hedberg@eui.eu 

September 2015 – August 2017

HedbergMasha
BioButton
 

 

Jaeger, William 

Oregon State University 

The Challenge of Climate Policy and the Need for Innovative Approaches 

Email: william.jaeger@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 668 
Office: Casale, CA014

September 2016 – January 2017

Jaeger-William
BioButton
 

 

Kaiser-Kaya, Bianca

Istanbul Kemerburgaz University 

Changing Patterns of Migration and Governance of Cultural Diversity 

Email: bianca.kaiser-kaya@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 793 
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS063

September 2016 – July 2017

Bianca Kaiser Kaya
 

 

Kassim, Hussein 

University of East Anglia 

Understanding the EU Civil Service

March – 15 April 2017

 

 

Marzinotto, Benedicta

Bruegel and University of Udine

Institutional Inconsistencies in Eurozone Macroeconomic Governance

Email: benedicta.marzinotto@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 712
Office: Villino, VL030

September 2016 – June 2017

 

 

Mavroidis, Petros

Columbia Law School

Global Governance Programme, ‘Global Economics’ research area

Email: petros.mavroidis@eui.eu

September  2016– August 2017

PetrosMavroidis
 

 

Piattoni, Simona 

University of Trento 

Towards a Multilevel Democracy for the EU 

March – July 2017

 

  

Pinto Arena, Maria do Céu 

University of Minho 

Reinterpretation and Hybridization of Jihadist Ideological Thinking within the Iraq/Syria War: Implications for European Muslims 

Email: maria.pinto@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 706
Office: Villino, VL030 

September – December 2016 

Maria Pinto
 

 

Rose, Richard

University of Aberdeen 

European Union Democracy Observatory

Email: richard.rose@eui.eu
Tel: [+39] 055 4685 261  
Office: Badia Fiesolana, BF260

November 2014 – October 2016

RoseRichard
 

  

Szulecki, Kacper

University of Oslo 

Energy Policy Fragmentation in the EU: Exploring Non-Convergence, Diffusion and Negative Learning in Renewable Energy Policies

16 January – 15 April 2017 

 

 

Umbach, Gaby

European University Institute

Globalisation Database

Email: gaby.umbach@eui.eu  
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 968  
Office: Villa Schifanoia, VS085

September  2016 – August 2017

BioButton
 

 

Wiesner, Claudia 

Philipps-University Marburg 

The Conceptual Politics of European Integration 

Email: claudia.wiesner@eui.eu
Tel: [+39] 055 4685 697  
Office: Villino, VL030

September – December 2016

Claudia Wiesner
 

 

Zangl, Bernhard 

Ludwig Maximilians University Munich

Varieties of Indirect Governance 

Email: bernhard.zangl@eui.eu
Tel: [+39] 055 4685 636  
Office: Villino, VL030

September 2016 – June 2017 

Bernhard Zangl
 

 

 

Page last updated on 23 September 2016