Home » Departments and Centres » Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies » Research » Working Groups » Migration Working Group

Migration Working Group

Migration is a multidisciplinary research field that has been strongly represented in the academic research of all departments of the EUI and has formed a specific focus at the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies. For several years, EUI faculty, fellows and researchers working on projects related to migration and the integration of immigrants have met in the Migration Working Group (MWG) to discuss their research.

The MWG provides an informal and congenial atmosphere for interdisciplinary debate. Sociology, political science, social geography, anthropology, history, economics, law, and demography are among the key disciplines represented in the MWG. 



Call for Papers

Migration Working Group 2016-2017 Programme


The European University Institute’s Migration Working Group organises small thematic half-day workshops taking place once a month. Each workshop includes 5-6 paper presentations and significant time for discussion of the papers. You are invited to submit paper abstracts (up to 1 page) by 20 September 2016. Please include your contact details and affiliation and a 5 line biographical note. Please submit the paper abstracts by filling in the following form:  http://www.rscas.org/registration_form/?p=2972

Topics to be tackled in these thematic workshops include (the list is indicative and not exhaustive):

  • The Refugee Crisis in Europe: Politics and Policies
  • Managing Cultural/Religious Diversity in and outside Europe
  • Radicalisation and International Terrorism
  • Migration, demography and labour markets
  • Migration and gender
  • Multiculturalism in the Age of Mobility
  • Migration in 2050: Challenges and Responses

The exact focus of each thematic session will be defined on the basis of the paper proposals received and those eventually selected for presentation. The aim is to tackle important broad areas in the study of migrant integration/ethnic minorities and migration/asylum management and give especially young scholars and PhD Students the opportunity to present their cutting edge research. Both empirical and theoretical contributions are welcome. High quality papers presented at the MWG are then invited for publication as Working Papers in the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies/Global Governance Programme series.

Participants coming from outside the EUI receive a small contribution towards covering their travel expenses.


For further information and registration to the MWG mailing list, please send an email to mwg@eui.eu

Subscribers to the MWG email list also receive the Migration Working Group Newsletter which includes information about job opportunities, conferences, projects and other relevant news in the field of migration studies.



Anna Triandafyllidou


Villa Schifanoia


Last Tuesday of each month, from 14:00 till 17:30 hours. Coffee/tea break offered at 15:30


  • 27 September 2016
  • 25 October 2016
  • 29 November 2016
  • 31 January 2017
  • 28 February 2017
  • 28 March 2017
  • 27 April 2017 * (it is a Thursday – that Tuesday is a bank holiday in Italy)
  • 30 May 2017

Call for Paper

Migration Working Group 2016-2017


Valentina Bettin
Email valentina.bettin@eui.eu
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 807 


Former directors:

Rainer Bauböck (2008-2012)
Jean-Pierre Cassarino (2006-2008) 
Virginie Guiraudon (2005-2006)
Philippe Fargues (2004-2005)
Franck Düvell (2002-2004) 

Past Meetings 

Page last updated on 02 September 2016