Home » Services and Admin » Academic Service » Fellowships


EUI Fellowships

Max Weber fellowships are designed for junior post-docs who would like to pursue an academic career, concentrate on their own research and enhance their academic practice in a multidisciplinary environment. Max Weber Fellowships are open to candidates who have received a doctorate in the social sciences (economics, law, political science, sociology, history and related fields) within the last 5 years. 

Applicants for Max Weber Fellowships who are nationals of Australia, Finland, Greece, Japan or Slovenia may be considered for the following grant schemes that are run by funding bodies in these countries. 

The Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies (RSCAS) offers Jean Monnet Fellowships to scholars who have obtained their doctorate at least 5 years before the start of the fellowship. During their stay at the RSCAS, fellows work on a research topic that fits well in the overall research profile of the RSCAS and participate in the academic life of the Centre and of the EUI. Jean Monnet Fellowships have a duration of 1 year, renewable once.

Fernand Braudel Senior Fellowships provide a framework for established academics with an international reputation to pursue their research at the EUI. Fellowships last for up to ten months in one of the EUI's four Departments which in turn invite fellows to participate in departmental activities(seminars, workshops, colloquia, etc.).

Other Fellowships

Τhe Hellenic Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs, for the academic year 2017-2018, will support the appointment of one Greek recent graduate in the context of EUI’s Max Weber postdoctoral programme. Τhe scholarship will be awarded by IKY (Greek State Scholarships Foundation) in collaboration with EUI. Candidates shall submit their applications and requested documents through the EUI’s Online Application Form in compliance with the EUI’s application procedures and deadlines. Candidates shall also submit to IKY a copy of their application along with requested documents in compliance with IKY’s application procedures and deadlines. Applicants must meet both EUI’s and IKY’s eligibility criteria. The selection shall be made by the EUI in accordance with Max Weber postdoctoral programme selection procedure. Before proceeding with the submission of application, please read carefully the relevant call for proposals at: https://www.iky.gr/el/upotrofies-gr/didaktoriko/kyepif.

Slovenia (Slovene Human Resources Development and Scholarship Fund) awards one post-doctoral fellowship for the academic year 2017/18. The fellowship is available to Slovenian candidates who have received a doctorate within the last five years. The selected candidate will participate in the Max Weber programme.

Interested candidates should apply directly for admission to the Max Weber programme following the instructions given on the EUI Website. The deadline for applications is 25 October 2016. Eligible Slovenian candidates will automatically be considered for the Max Weber Fellowship. Admitted Slovenian candidate will then be requested to separately apply for the Slovenian fellowship by the deadline set and as requested by the call for proposals published by Slovene Human Resources and Scholarship fund. 

The Canon Foundation and the EUI jointly award one Canon Foundation Fellowship each year for post-doctoral research at the EUI. The fellowship is open to candidates of Japanese nationality or permanent residents of Japan. The selected candidate will participate in the Max Weber programme.

Interested candidates should apply using instructions given on the website of the Canon Foundation and/or apply directly for the Max Weber programme following the instructions given on the EUI Website.

The Academy of Finland awards fellowships for post-doctoral research at the EUI. There is no strict nationality criteria, but a project to be funded shall serve Finnish research and society or international collaboration. 

Candidates who apply for the Academy of Finland funding, and are interested in the Max Weber Fellowship are strongly encouraged to apply also directly for admission to the Max Weber programme following the instructions given on the EUI Website.

Australian European University Institute Fellowships Association Inc. awards annually one six-month Postdoctoral Fellowship for the period January-June. The Postdoctoral Fellowship is available to those who have graduated with a Ph.D. qualification within the last five years, and is open only to Australian citizens or residents employed in Australian universities.

Eligible candidates who apply for EUI Max Weber Fellowship may be considered for AEUIFAI Max Weber Fellowship.

The EUI (the Departments and the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies) acts as a host institution for Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowships (IF) which are awarded by the European Commission. The EUI organises a pre-selection of candidates interested in applying for these fellowships with the EUI as a host institution.

Page last updated on 30 September 2016