Home » Departments and Centres » History and Civilization » Research & Teaching » Workshops & Conferences » Workshops Series - Carletti's World: An Early Modern Global Voyage

Carletti's World: An Early Modern Global Voyage


In the framework of the Project on Carletti's World: An Early Modern Global Voyage,  jointly sponsored by Villa I Tatti with the European University Institute (Giorgio Riello), University of Warwick (Luca Molà), Syracuse University (Brian Brege), and Stanford University (Paula Findlen) 

Speakers will bring their own knowledge and expertise to bear on the shaping of a conversation on different aspects of early modern global history, placing Carletti’s My Voyage Around the World at the centre. At each meeting three 10 min. informal presentations will be followed by an open discussion among participants.

The workshops will be held on Fridays from February to June 2021, at 9-11am PST / 12-2pm EST/ 5-7pm GMT / 6-8pm CET / 2-4am JST on ZOOM (please register with Francesca Parenti

 

Workshop Series


Carletti's World Across Maritime Empires 

12 February 2021

  • Introduction by: Brian Brege (Syracuse University) and Giorgio Riello (EUI) 
  • Presentations by: Bartolomé Yun-Casalilla (Pablo de Olavide, Seville); Jorge Flores (CIUHCT, Lisbon) and Jos Gommans (Leiden University)

Mobility, Travel and Trade in Carletti's Times

5 March 2021

  • Presentations by: Lucio Biasiori (University of Padova); Luca Molà (University of Warwick) and Corey Tazzara (Scripps College)

Slavery and Slave Trade

26 March 2021

  • Presentations by: Ingrid Greenfield (Villa I Tatti, Harvard); Trevor Burnard (University of Hull) and Miki Sugiura (Hosei University, Tokyo)

Ethnographic and Linguistic Understanding

16 April 2021

  • Presentations by: Joan-Pau Rubiés (ICREA and Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona); Daniela Bleichmar (University of Southern California); Ines G. Županov (EHESS, Paris) and Anne Gerritsen (University of Warwick)

Sex, Gender and Religion in Carletti

14 May 2021

  • Presentations by: Eugenio Menegon (Boston University); Mackenzie Cooley (Hamilton College); and Guido van Meersbergen (University of Warwick)

Natural and Material Cultures

28 May 2021

  • Presentations by: Rebecca Earle (University of Warwick); Paula Findlen (Stanford University); and Dana Leibsohn (Smith College)

Maps and Global Spaces

11 June 2021

  • Presentations by: Lia Markey (Newberry Library); Kären Wigen (Stanford University); and Alexander Statman (UW-Madison) 

Page last updated on 21 January 2021

Back to top