Home » Departments and Centres » Political and Social Sciences » Linz-Rokkan Prize

Linz-Rokkan Prize in Political Sociology

Posted on 01 December 2010

The Department of Political and Social Sciences at the European University Institute has instituted this Prize in honour of two great postwar political sociologists, the late Stein Rokkan and Juan Linz, Emeritus professor at Yale University.

The Prize will be awarded for the best EUI thesis in a field of political sociology engaging with a theme in the broadly defined fields of work of Juan Linz and Stein Rokkan.

The Prize has been sponsored by Professor Richard Rose, holder of an Honoris Causa Degree from the European University Institute, and a founding father of postwar political science in Europe.

Prof. Rose was one of the initiators of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) and succeeded Stein Rokkan as Secretary to the influential IPSA/ISACommittee on Political Sociology. We are indebted to Prof. Rose for his support and generosity.


Rules Governing the Awarding of the Linz-Rokkan Prize

  • A Committee consisting of members of the Department of Political and Social Sciences at the EUI will be set up to judge candidates for the Prize.
  • The Committee will be decided by this Department but may include members from other Departments at the EUI.
  • Anyone who has submitted a Ph.D. at the EUI in the 24 months preceding 30 April of the year in which the Prize is awarded is eligible to be nominated for the Prize.
  • Candidates for the Prize must be nominated by their Supervisor(s).
  • The Prize shall be awarded according to the Committee’s decision.
  • The Prize shall not be awarded if the Committee decides that there is no thesis of a suitable level.
  • Persons nominating a candidate for the Prize cannot serve on the Committee. 
  • The winner will receive a cheque for €500 which will be presented at the Annual Degree Conferring Ceremony. 

These arrangements will be reviewed in 2013.