Home » Departments and Centres » Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies » Research » Working Groups » Migration Working Group

Migration Working Group

Migration is a multidisciplinary research field that has been strongly represented in the academic research of all departments of the EUI and has formed a specific focus at the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies. For several years, EUI faculty, fellows and researchers working on projects related to migration and the integration of immigrants have met in the Migration Working Group (MWG) to discuss their research.

The MWG provides an informal and congenial atmosphere for interdisciplinary debate. Sociology, political science, social geography, anthropology, history, economics, law, and demography are among the key disciplines represented in the MWG. 


Migration and Labour Markets 

28 November 2017, Sala Belvedere 

14.00 - 15.30


Migration, Labor Tasks and Production Structure in Europe

Giuseppe De Arcangelis | Sapienza University of Rome

Migration, Shadow Economy and Immigrant Integration in Russia: A Socio-LegalEthnographic Study of Central Asian Labour Migrants in Moscow

Rustamjon Urinboyev | Lund University

15.30 - 15.45 

Coffee Break

15.45 - 17.00

Ethnic Penalty to Occupational Mobility: Evidence from England and Wales

Ivelina Hristova | London School of Economics

Income Redistribution and Self-Selection of Immigrants: Evidence from Administrative Data

Guido Neidhöfer | Free University of Berlin


You can find more info on the event here


For further information and registration to the MWG mailing list, please send an email to [email protected]

Subscribers to the MWG email list also receive the Migration Working Group Newsletter which includes information about job opportunities, conferences, projects and other relevant news in the field of migration studies.



Andrew Geddes

Anna Triandafyllidou


Villa Schifanoia


Last Tuesday of each month, from 14:00 till 17:30 hours. Coffee/tea break offered at 15:30

26 September
24 October
28 November
30 January
27 February
20 March
24 April


Valentina Bettin
Email [email protected]
Tel. [+39] 055 4685 807 


Former directors:

Rainer Bauböck (2008-2012)
Jean-Pierre Cassarino (2006-2008) 
Virginie Guiraudon (2005-2006)
Philippe Fargues (2004-2005)
Franck Düvell (2002-2004) 

Past Meetings 

Page last updated on 16 November 2017