Home » Programmes and Fellowships » Postdoctoral Max Weber Programme » Max Weber Fellows » TROUILLARD, Pauline



Max Weber Fellow 2019-2020

Email: [email protected]
Tel: (+39)-055-4685-706 (ext: 2706)
Office: VPAD 02

European University Institute
Max Weber Programme
Via dei Roccettini, 9
50014 San Domenico di Fiesole

Departmental affiliation: Law
Mentor: Urška Šadl
Thematic Group: Governance, Constitutionalism and Democracy


Pauline Trouillard holds a PhD in public law from Paris 2 Panthéon-Assas University. Her dissertation focused on public service broadcasting in the member states of the European Union, through the example of the UK, Italy and France. Her main research interests include comparative administrative law, competition law applied to public services and media law and policy.

In her PhD dissertation she addressed the relationship between effectiveness of the public service remits provided by law and new models of governance, including regulation, market-based competition policy and corporate governance applied to the public sector. She was also interested in the notion of public service in comparative law, and showed that despite the specific appellation used in each legal system, the three States have all provided for some services they considered as essential, through a legal framework which is very similar between these countries. At the EUI, Pauline will focus on the ECJ case law that shaped EU competition law applied to the public sector. In doing so, she will use some historical and sociological methodology.

During her PhD, she spent two years as a visiting scholar at Oxford University. She was a visiting scholar at Federico II University, Naples, for six months, and at Complutense University, Madrid, during her MPhil in comparative public law. She also holds a bachelor in geography.

While she was in Paris, Pauline taught French constitutional law, comparative constitutional law, administrative law and human rights law, to approximately 100 students a year, at Paris 1 Pantheon-Sorbonne and Nanterre Universities.

Page last updated on 13 September 2019