Home » Research » Interdisciplinary Research Clusters

Interdisciplinary Research Clusters

The EUI seeks to increase the impact of its social sciences and humanities research with support for cross-campus interdisciplinary research clusters that focus on four interrelated themes of high societal interest.

Effective interdisciplinary research is rooted in disciplinary expertise and knowledge, which then converges in multiple zones of contact, some of which are outlined in the thematic clusters listed below. Economists and historians, social and political scientists and legal scholars each bring complementary approaches ­– and complementary forms of knowledge ­– to the table. These can then be confronted and explored in thematic encounters around matters of common concern such as distributional policies, climate change, and populism.

The EUI’s interdisciplinary research clusters are defined by an ambition to innovate rather than replicate what is done elsewhere. They are centred around a topical societal interest; they are broad enough to allow diversity between and within disciplines; and they carry substantial policy relevance, especially in the EU context. While the various activities within the clusters will be focused on research, they will also ultimately inform teaching activities.

Democracy in the 21st Century

Coordinated by Professors Elias Dinas (Political and Social Sciences), Martijn Hesselink (Law), Lucy Riall (History and Civilization), and Ann Thomson (History and Civilization)

Environmental Challenges and Climate Change Governance

Coordinated by Professors Joanne Scott (Law) and Corinna Unger (History and Civilization)

Inequality, Welfare and Social Justice

Coordinated by Professors Thomas Crossley (Economics), Laura Downs (History and Civilization) and Anton Hemerijck (Political and Social Sciences)

Crisis of Expert Knowledge and Authority

Coordinated by Professors Peter Drahos (Law), David K. Levine (Economics and Robert Schuman Centre) and Gaby Umbach (Robert Schuman Centre) 

Technological Change and Society

Coordinated by Professors Giacomo Calzolari (Economics), Nicolas Petit (Law and

Robert Schuman Centre) and Giovanni Sartor (Law)


Page last updated on 20 January 2021