Home » Research » Library » About the Library » Testimonials of Library Trainees

Feedback from Previous Library Trainees

Aikaterini Damaskinou


Katerina Damaskinou"I consider this year a great chance of learning and working in real conditions.  The multicultural environment, the library staff members and the beautiful location of the Library were only some of the benefits of working and living here."

Katerina

(February 2016  February 2017)

 

Víctor Arrazola Altelarrea


"The traineeship is, in general terms, amazing.  [...] During my stage I got a general view of how a university library works. They taught me everything I know about librarianship and they gave me space and confidence to fulfil my tasks, becoming an independent worker soon."

Víctor

(February 2016 – February 2017)

Helena Simanova


"I think tHelena Simanova hat the participation in this traineeship programme is beneficial for enhancing/starting the career in library services. In my case, it helped me expand my professional network, and significantly broadened my perspective of a possible future position."

Helena

(October 2015 – October 2016)

Karin Albinsson


Karin Albinsson

"My time as a trainee has been a pleasant experience. I have learnt a lot and been well taken care of by the staff. I would definitely recommend it to other library science students or recently graduated librarians who want to gain some introductory experience of the profession."

Karin

(February 2015 – February 2016)

Stella Breki


Stella Breki

"All of the people who work in the library are highly skilled professionals and they were always willing to teach us and to answer any questions we might have.

I hope I am able to work in a similar kind of institution in the future."

Stella

(April 2015- April 2016)

Eleni Tziortzi


Tziortzi Eleni

"The participation in the programme of the EUI Library allowed me to gain experience in an academic and professional environment. It was educative and pleasant to work at the departments of Acquisitions and Cataloguing Services and with the European Documentation Centre collection.

The well-structured traineeship programme was beneficial and helped me to acquire expertise in the respective fields. Daily variation of tasks and supervisors was also very interesting. I am especially grateful for the chance to meet and cooperate with trainees from other European countries. The multicultural environment gave me the opportunity to improve my English and learn the Italian language."

Eleni

(April 2014-April 2015)

 

 

Sonia Vicente Sánchez


"That was my first experience in an international academic library and I really recommend to apply for this programme.
To be a trainee in the EUI Library is a unique experience and you will work in different services. I was involved in the InterLibray Loan Department (ILL), European Documentation Centre (EDC), Electronic Resources and Cataloguing Department. You will learn but also you will be a part of an international team, they will listen your opinions and you will be able to work independently.
But this experience is not only about work. You will be able to know one of the most beautiful cities in the world (Florence) and you could travel around Italy and, why not, visit other countries in your free time. Also you will improve your English skills and if you are interested you could learn a new language: Italian.
Do you want to live a lot of new experiences and grow professionally and personally?
Apply to the traineeship programme!"

Sonia

(April 2014-April 2015)

 

Eleni Kouloumpi 


"Eleni KoloumpiBeing a trainee in the European University Institute Library helped me to grow both personally and professionally. I learnt how to work both as part of a team and independently. Also, the training sessions during the introductory programme helped me to integrate in the multicultural environment.

Besides this, I made friends and I had a great cultural experience travelling in Italy, visiting museums, tasting the Italian food and learning the Italian language."

Eleni

(February 2014-January 2015)

Núria Cangròs I Alonso


NuriaCangros "The Traineeship Programme at the EUI Library gave me a good opportunity to work in an academic environment. It was quite complete and it allowed me to have a general idea of the library, but at the same time to have an in-depth knowledge of different departments and projects (namely Cataloguing Department, Interlibrary loan and Cadmus, the Institutional repository).

I met professional librarians able to guide and accompany me in the learning process. After one year, I have improved both my professional and language skills and I feel more secure and confident as a librarian. 

I very much appreciate the effort that every year the Library and the librarians do to accept and train five new trainees. I really thank all my supervisors, and all the colleagues I had the chance to work with as well, for the kindness and predisposition to help and guide me during all my traineeship. They all are professional and they were all ready to share their experience and knowledge with me. It made me enjoy even more my job and it really helped me to feel committed to my tasks.
In short, it was a great opportunity to grow both professionally and personally.  Long life to the EUI's Library Traineeship Programme !"

Núria

(February 2013-January 2014)

Katerina Polomska


Katerina Polomska

"The traineeship program at the EUI Library was very beneficial for me as a student in the middle of Master studies. I could experience in practice things that I was so far just learning about. Working in different services and on different projects gave me the opportunity to gain a lot from it. I have seen both managing an international academic library on a daily basis as well as dealing with bigger issues, and that was something very unique. During the year I have met a lot of people and experienced a lot of Italy. I think that I have enhanced my professional but also personal skills a lot. It was a very great experience that I am so grateful for. I could definitely recommend applying for this program."

Katerina

(April 2013-April 2014)

Karolina Podloucka


Podloucka Karolina

"I feel honoured to have had the opportunity to have been a trainee in the EUI Library.

I came to Florence not knowing what this experience would bring to me. And it brought a lot, both in my professional and personal life. This was my first experience of library work, so I was a little worried at the beginning, but I soon discovered an amazing working environment, very professional and very friendly. Thanks to a well-structured programme, I gained experience mainly in serials management but also in other services so I gained a comprehensive overview of the whole workflow. I also felt very well integrated with staff members and other trainees. Everybody is nice and helpful. I met a lot of new people, some of whom have become my very close friends.

I had an incredible year on a personal level, full of smiles, Italian sun, experiences and travelling and I can warmly recommend taking part in this traineeship programme!!!

Last but not least, thanks to living in an academic environment and thanks to the support of nice people, I decided to carry on with my studies and my thesis, and aim to finish my masters soon."

Kaia

(October 2012-October 2013)

Clara Artigas


"I think that the traineeship at the EUI Library it is a great experience, both personal and professional. I am happy and thankful for having had this opportunity.

The traineeship programme is very complete, it gives the opportunity to see the complete work flow of the library and also to partecipate in the daily work. The one year traineeship helps to understand how more about a big and international institution, such as the EUI.

Working in different units and with different people makes the daily work more varied and gives opportunities to gain new skills and knowledge.

Working in an environment with so many people from different countries also improved my interpersonal skills."

Clara

(April 2012-April 2013)

Laura Carnelos


 

Laura Carnelos

"I am very satisfied with the programme. I worked in three different services and I could really broaden my skills.

I learned how to work in Interlibrary loan Service. I also improved my knowledge of cataloguing different materials, and, in general I learned how an international library is organized and run in a harmonic way.

I felt completely integrated in my service and in the library.

It was a great occasion to grow both professionally and personally.

During my traineeship I met fantastic people. I enjoyed sharing with them good times but also finding friends in bad times."

Laura

(April 2012-April 2013)

Alba Nogués Espasa


 

Alba

“My year as an EUI Library Trainee has certainly been a great experience. I am honoured to have had the opportunity to be a part of such a great team. Working on such diverse projects and tasks has allowed me to enhance both my personal and professional skills. The knowledge gained during this last year will certainly be invaluable. I have also enjoyed the international environment. The library staff members are at once very warm and very professional. They taught us our library daily tasks with patience and understanding.

Not only have I been able to grow professionally but I have also been able to enjoy this beautiful city. Firenze is so full of history with many opportunities to learn, grow, and live. The combination really has made this one of the best years of my life.

I will take much of what I have learned this year and apply it in my professional future. It was a great experience that I will not soon forget.“

Alba

(February 2012-February 2013)

Loukia Petrelis-Petra


Lucie

 “I was truly honored for being selected to work at this high level institution’s Library and be among wonderful professionals. The knowledge I gained is un-replaceable and I will cherish all the unique moments I was lucky to live here! Florence is one of the most beautiful cities in the world and the working environment of the EUI is like being in a post card! Whatever I do, wherever I go, from now and on, I will always have in my heart this memorable experience and I will know that I have been there and I was a small part of it. I also got to meet amazing people and make friends that I hope to keep for life!“

Lucie

(February 2012-February 2013)

Giulia Manzotti


Giulia Manzotti

“For sure I've enhanced my experience with library systems (Millennium) and with cataloguing, thanks to the different materials I came across every day.
Thanks to Cadmus project, I'm able now to use the Dublin Core metadata set.
Under the social 'aspect, I've learnt how to work in a dynamic environment and especially in a team, and to respect more cultural diversities. 

I just want to say thank you for the opportunity you gave me to work in this beautiful and professional environment.“

Giulia

(October 2011-October 2012)

Ingela Wahlgren


Ingela Wahlgren “My year at the EUI Library was actually my first ever work experience in a library, I had just finished my education when I arrived in Florence. So it was a bit scary having your very first loan desk shift in a foreign language and meeting lots of people who also had English as a second language! But it turned out to be one of the most rewarding years of my life to date. The international atmosphere at the Institute, the friendly and helpful staff in the library and the friendships that formed with the other trainees all made the year a fantastic experience, on a professional as well as a personal level.

In my career after the year at the EUI I have definitely benefited from this work experience, probably most importantly from having worked in an international environment. Do not hesitate if you are thinking of applying, just do it!”

Ingela

(June 2005-June 2006)

SFIS has appointed Ingela Wahlgren as Information Specialist of the Year 2012!
Ingela Wahlgren works as a solo librarian at the International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics, IIIEE, in Lund.

Jan Simandl


Jan Simandl "The programme is definitely valuable because it provides practical experience of working in highly professional library. The multinational academic environment of the EUI is intellectually stimulating and the library staff provides both a professional and really friendly atmosphere in which to work. Thanks to additional tasks and various side projects with the Information Specialists, the work itself never became boring.

With regards to living in Florence, it is very useful to have a possibility of using benefits such as free entry to the main museums and galleries, and the possibility to use the EUI’s gym.
During the traineeship I met a lot of nice friends, made  professional contacts and gained valuable professional experience. Amazing year!"

Honza

(April 2011-April 2012)

Nuria Mampel


Nuria Mampel "I arrived here with no idea of what I would find exactly, with dreams, new aims, for myself and for my career.

Now I can say this last year at the EUI Library was like a dream. I learnt a lot of things, more things than I expected, I lived through incredible and unforgettable experiences here. In my job I learnt how a research library is working, the acquisitions procedures, how to create statistics for a library, cataloguing of different kinds of materials, and user service.

As a personal experience I got to know myself better, I learnt languages, I met a lot of interesting and nice people and I travelled.

I would like to thank all the staff for being really nice, for teaching us and for their patience!

Without doubts I can say this is one of the best used years of my life."

Nuria

(April 2011-April 2012)

Jiri Vankat


Jiri Vankat  "I feel I have benefited greatly from taking part in the traineeship programme at EUI library, place with a solid, well organized and professional environment. Everyday practical working process allowed me to broaden my skills and to grow personally and professionally, while at the same time making friends for a lifetime."

Jirka

(October 2010- October 2011)

 

 

Marta Fernández Golbano


Marta Fernandez  "I think that each one of us has had such different experiences and opinions depending on the service you have been working in. For me it has been one of the best experiences I have ever had and I thank the staff for the opportunity they gave me.

Besides feeling integrated among the staff, I have had very nice personal experiences with them and great moments with the other trainees as well.

In my opinion, the program itself has been almost perfect."

Marta

(April 2010-April 2011)

Sara Nässén


Sara Nassen "I am overall very satisfied with the traineeship programme. It has given me profound knowledge about one service in particular but also a good overview of the Library’s whole workflow.
Altogether I feel privileged to have been working in an environment with such competent staff as here and I would warmly recommend the training to others interested in getting library work experience."

 

Sara 

(April 2010-April 2011)

 

 

Page last updated on 31 January 2017