Skip to content

Alumni Prize for Best Thesis

 In 2004, the Alumni Association decided to fund a prize for the best interdisciplinary Ph.D. thesis on a relevant European issue. The Alumni Prize is conferred every two years during the EUI Degree Conferring Ceremony.

The prize winner is selected by a Jury composed of four members representing the EUI disciplines and who are all Alumni and distinguished scholars in their fields. The Jury Chairman is chosen among former EUI Professors.

Each Department nominates the best thesis on a topic with interdisciplinary relevance in its field and the Jury selects a winner from among these nominations.

The prize consists of €3,000, and a diploma and medal designed by the Florentine artist Onofrio Pepe, known for his exhibitions on 'Il mito di Europa' (The Myth of Europe). The other nominees are awarded a diploma for having won the contest within their respective Departments. 

 In 2012, no Alumni prize was awarded.

Alumni Prize 2010

Awarded 1 October 2010 to Christopher John Hanretty, Ph.D. 2009, Department of Political and Social Sciences

Thesis Title: The Political Independence of Public Service Broadcasters

Members of the Jury: Peter Hertner, HEC (Universität Halle-Wittenberg) (Chairman); Alan Cafruny, SPS (Hamilton College, NY);  Ruggero Ranieri (Università di Padova), HEC Ph.D. 1988; Milica Uvalic (Università di Perugia), ECO Ph.D. 1988; François Lafarge (Ecole Nationale de l'Administration, ENA), LAW Ph.D. 2003.

Nominees of Other Disciplines: Mark Dawson, LAW; Mariya Teteryatnikova, ECO; Antonio Terrasa Lozano, HEC.

Alumni Prize 2008

Awarded 3 October 2008 to Yannis Karagiannis, Ph.D. 2007, Department of Political and Social Sciences

Thesis Title: 'Preference Heterogeneity and Equilibrium Institutions: The Case of European Competition Policy'

Members of the Jury: Jaime Reis (ICS, Lisbon), Chairman, Ana Rute Cardoso, ECO (IZA, Bonn), Michelle Everson, LAW (Birkbeck College, University of London), Axel West Pedersen, SPS (NOVA, Oslo) and Wolfgang Kaiser, HEC (Université de Paris I).

Nominees of Other Disciplines: Patrycja Dabrowska, LAW; Karel Mertens, ECO; Sakari Saaritsa, HEC.  

Alumni Prize 2006

Awarded 6 October 2006 to Valérie Hayaert, Ph.D. 2005, Department of History and Civilization

Thesis Title: Mens Emblematica et Humanisme Juridique: Le cas du Pegma cum narrationibus philosophicis de Pierre Coustau (1555)

Members of the Jury: Philippe Schmitter SPS (EUI), Chairman, Susan Senior Nello (University of Siena), ECO, Hubert Zimmermann (University of Cornell) HEC, Tanja Börzel (Free University of Berlin), SPS, and Monica den Boer (Free University of Amsterdam), LAW.

Alumni Prize 2004

Awarded 1 October 2004 to Harm Schepel, Ph.D. 2003, Department of Law

Thesis Title: The Constitution of Private Governance. Product Standards in the Regulation of Integrating Markets

Members of the Jury: Paul De Grauwe (University of Leuven) Chairman, Roberto Tamborini, ECO (Università di Trento), Renaud Dehousse, LAW (Sciences Po, Paris), Simon Hix, SPS (London School of Economics and Political Science) and Rolf Petri, HEC (Università Ca' Foscari, Venice). 

Nominees of Other Disciplines: Daniela Vuri, ECO; Alana Lentin, SPS; Maud Bracke, HEC. 


Page last updated on 20 August 2017

Go back to top of the page