External Relations

The European University Institute engages in relations with numerous institutions in its Contracting States and across the world. These relationships foster joint research, shared initiatives, and promote dialogue and knowledge transfer for educational and scientific purposes with communities both near and far. They also facilitate the exchange of students, researchers, faculty, and staff, and offer internship opportunities to master’s students.

The EUI External Relations Office identifies key partners and seeks to define structured collaborations with public and private institutions, as well as support the EUI’s engagement with the European Union’s institutions.The EUI usually formalises its relations with partners through partnership agreements. Should your institution be interested in exploring a partnership with the EUI, please contact us to discuss potential cooperation.

Dean of External Relations: Professor Bernard Hoekman

External Relations Officer: Dr Elena Asciutti

Our Partners



Partnerships with higher education and research institutions focusing on graduate and post-graduate education, research, and exchange.    



Think Tanks and Civil Society        

The EUI collaborates with think tanks and civil society organisations across the globe to connect academic research with the  questions, concerns and responses of the public.



International Institutions       

Policy research networks, executive education and professional development programmes to foster collaboration between scholars and practitioners.



Networks and Alliances   

Research and training networks facilitate the meeting of scholars and practitioners from different backgrounds to address European and transnational challenges.



Media Partners                            

A series of media partners to connect EUI research programmes and networks to a wide audience outside the scientific community.                                                  




The European University of Social Sciences – set up with the alliance of eight European higher education and research institutions and funded by the EU Programme 'Erasmus+'.


Back to top