Seminar

Histories of Knowledge

Add to calendar 2022-01-11 09:00 2022-03-15 11:00 Europe/Rome Histories of Knowledge Sala degli Stemmi Villa Salviati- Castle YYYY-MM-DD
Print

When

Tue 11 Jan 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 18 Jan 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 25 Jan 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 01 Feb 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 08 Feb 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 15 Feb 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 22 Feb 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 01 Mar 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 08 Mar 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Tue 15 Mar 2022 09.00 - 11.00

Where

Sala degli Stemmi

Villa Salviati- Castle

The history of science and the history of the social sciences have been traditionally kept distinct.

The former is a well-established field, with its literature, its institutions, and its principled divisions. The former has been a fragmented and uneven development, mostly written by representatives of the disciplines under scrutiny. Of late, however, historians have increasingly questioned this separation, often under the banner of the history of knowledge (or knowledges).

By exploring the history of knowledge broadly conceived, this seminar will address the principles of periodisation and classification that have structured our understanding of science. It will examine hybrid scientific or epistemic practices that fall somewhere between the natural and the social sciences, such as medicine, psychology, epidemiology or astrology, as well as the construction of distinctions between science, pseudo-science and charlatanism. It will attend to how the construction of information, archives and data inflect the histories we write. It will also address the boundary work that goes into maintaining a distinction between nature and society at a time when their imbrication seems to require an overhaul of our cognitive, social and political models. 

 

Links:

Organiser(s):

Nicolas Guilhot (EUI)

Contact(s):

Anna Coda Nunziante

Back to top