Skip to content
School of Transnational Governance - European University Institute

National EDMO hubs announced

The European Commission has announced the eight selected national hubs that will become part of the European Digital Media Observatory (EDMO) network. The network of hubs on digital media will contribute to the fight against disinformation. Each national hub will cover one or more EU Member States.

26 May 2021


The EU dedicates more than 11 million Euros to the funding of eight hubs that will help implement and expand the work of EDMO. Through the national hubs, EDMO will increase its capacity of tackling harmful disinformation campaigns at national and EU level, and analyse their impact on society and democracy.
Each hub will contribute to the creation of a multidisciplinary community by pulling together academic researchers, fact-checkers, media practitioners and other relevant stakeholders to create a network capable of:

  • Detecting and analysing disinformation campaigns, as well as producing content to support mainstream and local media and public authorities in exposing harmful disinformation campaigns;
  • Organising media literacy activities at national or multinational level;
  • Providing support to national authorities for the monitoring of online platforms’ policies and the digital media ecosystem.

EDMO and its regional hubs are funded through the Connecting Europe Facility. They are independent from any national or EU public authority.
The selected eight national hubs cover Ireland, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, as well as Norway, in the EEA. The hubs should be operational by the end of summer 2021. The eight selected hubs will sign grant agreements with the EU in the upcoming months.

Name of the Hub Coordinating Institution  Countries covered
Ireland Hub Dublin City University IE
EDMO BE/ NL Stichting Nederlands Instituut voor Beeld en Geluid BE/NL
Central European Digital Media Observatory (CEDMO) UNIVERZITA KARLOVA SK, CZ, PL
IBERIFIER  Universidad de Navarra SP and PT
NORDIS - NORdic observatory for digital media and information DISorders  Aarhus Universitet DK, SE, NO and FI
Belgium-Luxembourg Research Hub on Digital Media and Disinformation  Vrije Universiteit Brussel BE and LUX
DE FACTO Observatory of Information Fondation  Nationale des Sciences Politiques FR
Italian Digital Media Observatory  Luiss Libera Università Internazionale degli Studi Sociali Guido Carli IT


Download the full list of national hubs.

The European Digital Media Observatory

The European Digital Media Observatory (EDMO), operational since 1 June 2020, serves as a platform for fact-checkers, academic researchers and other relevant stakeholders contributing to address disinformation in Europe. It also encourages and supports collaboration with media organisations, media literacy experts, and provides support to policy makers.
EDMO, as part of its first phase of activities, is working to deploy technical means and infrastructure to facilitate collaboration and knowledge exchange between researchers and fact-checkers in Europe, and coordinates joint activities at the EU level.
The second phase will start with the establishment of the first EDMO hubs that have just been announced. The aim is to eventually reach a full coverage of the EU and EEA.

Last update: 26 January 2022

Go back to top of the page