Pierre Werner Chair Programme > People


Chair Holder


Ramon Marimon is Professor of  Economics and  Pierre Werner Chair at the  European University Institute (on leave from the  Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Chairman of the  Barcelona Graduate School of Economics (since 2011) and Research Fellow of  CEPR and  NBER.

Former positions include: President of the  Society of Economic Dynamics (2012 - 2015) and of the  Spanish Economic Association (2004); Director of the  Max Weber Programme of the EUI (2006 - 2013); Chair of the  European Economic Association Standing Committee on Research (2008 - 2011); Secretary of State for Science and Technology in Spain (2000 - 2002).

Research interests include Macroeconomics, Monetary Theory, Contract Theory, Learning Theory and Labor Theory, with a special emphasis on European economic issues.

More information on the EUI webpage.


Previous Chair Holders

Advisory Board

Fellows and Visitors

  • Francesco Molteni (Max Weber Programme, EUI) - Max Weber Fellow,  2016-2019
  • Chima Simpson-Bell (Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies) - Research Associate, 2018
  • Joao Brogueira De Sousa (Department of Economics, EUI) - Research Assistant, 2016-2017
  • Mauro Lanati (Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies) - Max Weber Fellow, 2016-2017
  • Thomas Beukers (The Netherlands’ Ministry of Foreign Affairs) - Jean Monnet Fellow, 2016-2017
  • Armin Steinbach (Max-Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods) - Jean Monnet Fellow, 2016-2017


Project Manager

Donato di Bartolomeo

Email: [email protected]

Tel. [+39] 055 4685 922

Administrative Assistant

Francesca Elia

Email: [email protected]

Tel. [+39] 055 4685 739


Page last updated on 11 June 2020