Silvia Sassano

Research Assistant

Silvia Sassano

Email [email protected] 

Postal address: Alcide De Gasperi Research Centre |Historical Archives of the European Union |Villa Salviati | Via Bolognese 156 |50139 Florence – Italy

Silvia Sassano is a post-doctoral fellow at the Alcide De Gasperi Research Centre of the European University Institute. She is currently the Research Assistant for the project “History of the EPP Group in the European Parliament”, an academic study on the EPP Group’s contribution and impact on key episodes in the development of the European integration process. Previously, she was involved in the international project “Histcom3 - The European Commission (1986-2000) – History and Memories of an Institution” funded by the European Commission.

In 2013, she was appointed as “Cultore della materia” in Contemporary History and European Integration History at the University of Siena (Italy). She holds a MA in International relations and European studies (2010) from the University of Siena (Italy), a MA in European Studies from the University of Montpellier I (France) and a PhD in History and Politics of European integration (2015) from the University of Pavia (Italy). In 2014, she completed a ten-month spell as a Visiting Research Student at the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute. Her PhD Thesis, entitled “The long road toward INTERREG: the territorial cooperation between internal border regions of the EEC in the History of European Integration (1958 - 1990)”, based on extensive archival research including records of the EEC Institutions, focuses on the history and on the institutionalization of the territorial cooperation as an EEC/EU programme.

Research interests

Her main research interests lie in the History of the EEC/EU Policies and History of the EEC/EU institutions, with a particular focus on European Cohesion Policy, European Territorial Co-operation, EU enlargements and on the inter-institutional relations/dialogue between European Parliament, European Commission and Council of the European Union.

Page last updated on 18 October 2018

Back to top