Home » Services and Admin » Communications Service » News » Five new faculty members to join the EUI

Five new faculty members to join the EUI

Posted on 26 July 2019

The Institute welcomes five new full-time professors who will join the faculty at the beginning of September.

Martijn Hesselink is the newly appointed Professor of Transnational Law and Theory in the Department of Law.  He comes to the EUI from the University of Amsterdam, where he has taught for the last 20 years and was Director of the Centre for the Study of European Contract Law. His research interests include european private law, private law theory and transnational law, justice and democracy.

Also joining the Law Department is Neha Jain, Professor of Public International Law.  On special leave from the University of Minnesota School of Law, Professor Jain's specialisations include public international law, comparative international law, international criminal law, and international human rights law. 

Miriam Golden will take up the Peter Mair Chair in Comparative Politics in the Department of Political and Social Sciences (SPS). Professor Golden arrives at the EUI from UCLA. Her scholarship is focused on the areas of political accountability and responsiveness,  distributive politics, political parties, incumbency and reelection and the politics of energy and water.

Arnout Van de Rijt has also joined the Department of SPS as Professor of Sociology. Professor Van De Rijt was previously at the University of Utrecht, and his research areas computational social science, social influence, social networks, self-emergent inequalities, and collective action.

Finally, the Department of History and Civilization welcomes Professor of Early Modern Global History Giorgio Riello. Professor Riello was previously at the University of Warwick in the UK. His research and teaching interests include global history and the history of globalization,  global economic and cultural history, and the history of consumption, fashion, and material culture.