Skip to content

Academic Scholarships Programme on Innovation Research & Expertise (ASPIRE)

The Department of Law (LAW) of the European University Institute (EUI) accepts applications for doctoral research grants in the framework of the newly launched Academic Scholarships Programme on Innovation Research & Expertise (ASPIRE): Enabling Next Generation Scholars and New Paradigms for Competitiveness, Innovation, and Technology Policy.

ASPIRE aims to promote the development of new law, policy frameworks, tools, and processes fit for today’s economy.

ASPIRE seeks to advance knowledge-production for competitiveness, innovation, and technology policy by fostering a new generation of researchers. The project will engage candidates from underrepresented groups, in particular developing countries and emerging economies.

The PhD candidates will be selected through the regular PhD recruitment procedure for the Department of Law, and they will have to register with the department’s doctoral programme. 

For more information on the programme please see: Academic Scholarships Programme on Innovation Research & Expertise (ASPIRE).

Funding Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the ASPIRE scholarships, candidates must meet both of the following two conditions.

1. Candidates should have:

  • An interest in innovation, competition, and technology policies; and
  • A basic understanding of, and attraction towards, science and technology; and
  • A willingness to work in a team of researchers oriented towards competition, economic regulation, technological change and society.

Candidates who wish to apply for the ASPIRE scholarships, must submit a cover letter (up to 500 words) to detail how they think they meet the above mentioned requirements. This letter must be attached to the EUI Online Application Form, using the CV attachment field ('Required Documents' section). Candidates should upload a PDF document, as a separate file in addition to their CV. Moreover, they should also take into account these requirements when drafting their research proposal.

2. Candidates must hold the nationality of one of the countries listed in the table below:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
  • Brazil
  • Bhutan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China, PRC
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo (Democratic Republic of the)
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini (Kingdom of)
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Iraq
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea (Democratic People’s Rep. of)
  • Kosovo
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia (Federated States of)
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Macedonia
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Palestine, State of
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Rwanda
  • Russian Federation
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania (United Republic of)
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Türkiye
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Candidates are requested to submit a copy of their ID/Passport as part of their EUI Online Application Form, so as to confirm their nationality(ies). The copy of the ID document(s) will be processed only by the EUI Administration and the relevant funding authority(ies), it will not be distributed to the EUI departmental selection committee.

Degree Requirements

Candidates must have successfully completed a Master or equivalent degree in an academic discipline relevant for the doctoral programme of the Department of Law and for their research proposal. The degree must be awarded no later than 31 August 2024.

Application Procedure

Candidates wishing to apply for these fellowships should choose the 'ASPIRE - Academic Scholarships Programme on Innovation Research & Expertise (LAW)' option in the Grant authority section of the online application form and indicate their nationality in the 'Justification' field.

There is no separate grant application procedure to follow. The application for admission to the EUI is automatically an application for the scholarships.

Grants and Allowances

Monthly grant: 1.505 € as of 1 January 2024 

Family allowance: Yes

Travel allowance: Yes

Insurance: Yes

Funding Authority

European University Institute


EUI Admissions Office

Academic Service

E: [email protected]

T: [+39] 055 4685 373

European University Institute

Via dei Roccettini 9, San Domenico di Fiesole (FI), Italy

Page last updated on 07/11/2023

Go back to top of the page