Skip to content


Pocockian moments: A symposium on the centenary of J.G.A. Pocock

Add to calendar 2024-05-20 09:00 2024-05-21 18:00 Europe/Rome Pocockian moments: A symposium on the centenary of J.G.A. Pocock Online YYYY-MM-DD


Mon 20 May 2024 09.00 - 18.00

Tue 21 May 2024 09.00 - 18.00



Organised by

This two-day online symposium, organised by the Association for Global Political Thought, sets out to discuss a variety of papers and themes inspired by and in conversation with the work of J. G. A. Pocock.

The voluminous work of the late J. G. A. Pocock (1924-2023) challenged, redefined, and fashioned multiple fields of study, offering successive moments of transformation in scholarship, from studies on constitutional historiography, the republican tradition, and plural Enlightenments, to the history of islands, Indigenous thought, and the fundamental interconnectedness of Afro-Eurasia. Attentive to archipelagic and planetary constellations, connections, and circulations, the expansive spatial, temporal, and discursive scope of Pocock’s work also inspired and contributed to something of a global turn in the study of historical political thought. This symposium seeks to examine the multifarious contributions and legacy of Pocock and celebrate his work as a historian and historiographer in the year that marks the centenary of his birth – keeping in mind especially the theme of globality and Pocock’s proposal for a ‘world history of political thought’.

Keynote speakers: Richard Whatmore (St Andrews), Rosario López (Málaga)

Speakers: James Alexander (Bilkent Üniversitesi), Myriam-Isabelle Ducrocq (Université Paris Nanterre) and Blandine Kriegel (Professor Emerita), George Gallwey (Independent), Connor Grubaugh (University of Oxford), Joel Herman (Trinity College Dublin), László Kontler (Central European University), Moses Lapin (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Luca Lissoni (Università di San Marino), Nicolau Lutz (University of Cambridge), Lewis Mayo (University of Melbourne), and Lai Ying (Tsinghua University)

Organising Committee: Thomas Ashby (EUI), Sama Mammadova (Harvard), and Laurelin Middelkoop (EUI) with the Association for Global Political Thought based at Harvard University and partner institutions.

Please register in order to receive the ZOOM link.

Go back to top of the page