Skip to content
Home » Postdoctoral Max Weber Programme » Conferences » European Internal Security

European Internal Security Conference

Fellows ACO Conference23-25 April 2012, European University Institute, San Domenico di Fiesole

The aim of the conference on 'European Internal Security' is to investigate the drivers in European integration in Justice and Home Affairs. More specifically the conference will focus on the following themes:  

(1) What or who are the engines of European integration (or disintegration) in European Internal Security? 

(2) Taking stock of long term and current policy developments in the various policy areas of the AFSJ

(3) What inter-institutional relations can be observed and what cooperation patterns can be identified “on the ground” among security practitioners?

(4) Does the External Dimension of the Area of Freedom Security and Justice provide an alternative to the European Common Foreign and Security Policy? 

(5) What research approaches and methodologies can be identified for the study of the Area of Freedom, Security and Justice?

The conference is funded by  the European Commission Jean Monnet Programme / Lifelong Learning Programme

Programme (pdf)

Confirmed Speakers:

Javier Argomaniz, University of St. Andrews 

Thierry Balzacq, Namur University 

Ludo Block, VU, Amsterdam

Raphael Bossong, University of Hamburg

Sergio Carrera, Center for European Policy Studies

Andrew Geddes, University of Sheffield/ EUI     

Ester Herlin- Karnell, VU, Amsterdam 

Dora Kostakopoulou, University of Southampton 

Francesca Longo, University of Catania

Valsamis Mitsilegas, Queen Mary University London  

Joerg Monar, University of Sussex/ College of Europe 

Dietrich Neumann, Europol 

Joaquim Nunes de Almeida, European Commission 

John Occhipinti, Canisius College Buffalo

Maria O’Neill, University of Abertay

Patryk Pawlak, European Union Institute for Security Studies 

Eiko Thielemann, London School of Economics 

Florian Trauner, Institute for European Integration Research


Conference organizers:

Adrienne Héritier, RSCAS/EUI

Christian Kaunert, EUI/University of Salford

Sarah Leonard, Sciences Po/University of Salford

Marat Markert, EUI

Helena Carrapico, James Madison University/University of Coimbra

Tina Freyburg, MWP/EUI 

Page last updated on 18 August 2017

Go back to top of the page