Skip to content

Funding Opportunities in the Social Sciences in the European Research Area: Providers, Users and Professional Associations

Sixth MWP-ACO Conference

San Domenico di Fiesole, 30 November 2011

One of the key objectives to increase the international attractiveness of the European Research Area is to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of research funding, especially through the dissemination of best practice. To this end, the ACO carried out the “Survey on Research Funding for the Social Sciences in Europe”, jointly organized with the European Economic Association, theEuropean Sociological Association and the European Consortium for Political Research.

The first part of the 6th MWP-ACO conference was devoted to the presentation of the Survey’s results. These provided the basis for a debate on the best strategies to achieve excellence in the provision and usage of research funding opportunities at European and national levels. The debate was enriched through the participation of representatives of European and national funding agencies, research scholars and leading members of academic professional associations.

The second part of the conference was dedicated to the presentation of funding opportunities provided by European and national agencies, with a focus on young researchers in the Social Sciences and Humanities. The presenters shared with the audience the details about application procedures, the relevant deadlines and statistics as well as some practical tips to successfully apply for funding. The conference ended with direct consultations between the speakers and moderators.


Report on the Sixth MWP-ACO Conference 

Conference programme


Conference presentations:

Survey on Research Funding for the Social Sciences in Europe, MWP-ACO, Ramon Marimon

ERC, European Research Council, Monique Smaihi

European Commission, Research Executive Agency, Frank Marx

United Kingdom, Economic and Social Research Council, Alexa Mills

Germany, German Research Foundation, Eckard Kamper

Poland, Foundation for Polish Science, Jakub Wojnarowski

Switzerland, Swiss National Science Foundation, Marcel Kullin

Spain, CSIC Institute of Public Goods and Policies and OECD Committee for Scientific and Technological Policy (CSTP), Luis Sanz Menendez

Page last updated on 17 August 2017

Go back to top of the page