Skip to content

The Linz-Rokkan Prize in Political Sociology

The Department of Political and Social Sciences at the European University Institute has instituted this Prize in honour of two great postwar political sociologists, the late Stein Rokkan and the late Juan Linz.

The Prize is awarded annually for the best EUI thesis in a field of political sociology engaging with a theme in the broadly defined fields of work of Juan Linz and Stein Rokkan.

The Prize has been sponsored by Professor Richard Rose, holder of a Honoris Causa Degree from the European University Institute, and a founding father of postwar political science in Europe.

The first prize was conferred in 2011.

Rules Governing the Awarding of the Linz-Rokkan Prize

Selection Schedule

  • Period considered: the 24 months preceding 31 March of the year of conferral

  • Departmental thesis proposals to the committee by 1 April

  • Decision by mid-April 

Prize winners


Page last updated on 21 May 2024

Go back to top of the page