Skip to content
News Archive » Page title auto-generated here

Slovakia becomes 24th contracting state to the EUI

Posted on 09 December 2019

The European University Institute is proud to welcome the Slovak Republic as the 24th contracting state to its convention. The country’s membership in the EUI was ratified by the 23 members of the Institute’s High Council on 6 December.

With Slovakia’s accession to the Institute, prospective researchers from that country will be able to apply to the EUI's graduate programmes in Economics, History and Civilization, Law and Political and Social Sciences.

The accession is part of an ongoing effort of the EUI management to enlarge membership of the Institute, and in particular to bring in the countries that joined the European Union most recently.

Professor Renaud Dehousse, President of the EUI, expressed his satisfaction about Slovakia’s membership in the EUI, noting that ‘We are delighted to welcome Slovakia as the 24th Member State of the EUI. Today’s accession is one more step in our ongoing commitment to complete the enlargement of the Institute, making it a hub of academic excellence, and home to researchers from all over the continent.’

In a communication to the Institute’s High Council, Ms. Martina Lubyová, Slovakia’s Minister of Education, Sciences and Research and Sport, related the country's commitment to promote mobility, interdisciplinary education and academic and scientific networking to more effectively address present-day challenges. ‘By the accession of the Slovak Republic to the Convention setting up a European University Institute, Slovakia wishes to express the support of the international contacts in the area of social sciences and to stress the importance of encouraging young scientists and researchers.’


The High Council of the European University Institute ratified Slovakia's membership in the Institute on 6 December 2019

The European University Institute was set up in 1972 by the six founding member states of the then European Communities. Reflecting the growth of the European Union, the 24 contracting states now include Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Go back to top of the page