Seminar

Sites of Economic History

Add to calendar 2021-10-04 18:00 2021-12-03 19:00 Europe/Rome Sites of Economic History BTC104 Via Cavour, 61 YYYY-MM-DD
Print

When

Mon 04 Oct 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Wed 13 Oct 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Mon 18 Oct 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Wed 27 Oct 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Thu 04 Nov 2021 17.00 - 19.00

Wed 10 Nov 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Mon 15 Nov 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Mon 22 Nov 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Mon 29 Nov 2021 18.00 - 20.00

Fri 03 Dec 2021 17.00 - 19.00

Where

BTC104

Via Cavour, 61

This seminar examines the evolution of the world economy from the early modern history to the present. It seeks to understand the global economy and the politics of international economic relations through the history of economic institutions and business organisations. To pursue these goals, the seminar combines several theoretical and empirical methods and historical narratives.

The series is divided into four thematic blocks (1. The State; 2. The Firm; 3. The Law; 4. The Environment) preceded by an introduction and followed by a concluding meeting. In each block, the first week is a broad discussion, while the second week will be dedicated to more specific topics and will involve a guest speaker.

Researchers are also encouraged to attend the Summer Talks Series Connected Histories of Capitalism in September to get acquainted with the latest research in economic history on connected sites of capitalism. Central topics include the historicisation of economic globalization, the relation between capitalism and colonialism, the ethics of inequality, the problem of norms in the twentieth-century social sciences, and the relationship between the market economy and democratic structures of governance.

Researchers are expected to take an active part in the seminar discussion based on the readings for each session. In addition, sessions will be introduced by a brief presentation of the readings by one or two participants in the seminar. 

Please note that on Thursday 4 November and on Friday 3 December, the seminar will be held in Sala del Consiglio, Villa Salviati

Attachments:

Back to top