Skip to content
News Archive » Page title auto-generated here

Call for proposals: 2020 edition Vibeke Sørensen Research Grants

Posted on 10 January 2020

The Historical Archives of the European Union (HAEU) is launching a call for proposals in the context of the 2020 edition of its Postgraduate Vibeke Sørensen Grant scheme.

Postgraduate students are invited to apply for this grant, which aims to encourage research on the history of European integration based on primary sources held at the Historical Archives of the European Union.

Interested parties should submit a CV, a detailed research proposal including justification of the need to use the HAEU, a letter of recommendation and planned dates of stay in Florence to the HAEU. Successful applicants are offered the opportunity to spend one month at the Historical Archives on research stay.

A maximum of ten Vibeke Sørensen Grants are awarded per year without obligation to award the maximum number of grants. Successful candidates are obliged to be present in the reading room at least four days a week during their research stay. For the year 2020, applications will be accepted and grants awarded for two separate time periods.

Deadlines for applications are 12 April and 26 July 2020.

The Vibeke Sørensen Grant scheme for visiting scholars was set up in 1993 by the then President of the European University Institute (EUI) Emile Noël with support of the European Commission. The grant scheme adopted its current name in 1997 to honour the memory of Dr. Vibeke Sørensen (1952 – 1995), former researcher at the EUI History Department and staff member of the Historical Archives of the European Union (HAEU).  As a researcher she completed in 1987 her thesis on Denmark's social democratic government and the Marshall Plan, 1947-1950 under the supervision of Prof. Alan S. Milward with whom she later collaborated on the collective volume The Frontier of National Sovereignty: History and Theory 1945-1992 (Routledge, 1994).

For more information, please refer to the Vibeke Sørensen Grant’s web page.

Go back to top of the page