Skip to content

Prizes and Awards

Law Department

Cassese Prize

The Antonio Cassese Prize is awarded annually for the best EUI Doctoral Thesis in International Law.
Prize in honour of the outstanding lawyer who was among the most distinguished figures in international law and international criminal justice. It has been conferred for the first time at the Degree Conferring Ceremony on 13 June 2014.

Mauro Cappelletti Prize

The Mauro Cappelletti prize has been awarded annually since 2005 to commemorate the great legal scholar and former EUI professor, Mauro Cappelletti, who passed away in 2004.

Jacqueline Suter Prize

The Jacqueline Suter prize for an excellent thesis on a topic of EU law, is most generously sponsored on a personal basis by the friends and colleagues at the European Court of Justice of the late Dr. Jacqueline Suter, who died in 2009. Jackie worked for many years as a Head of Division at the European Court of Justice and it is the wish of those who knew her in Luxembourg that her name should be commemorated here at the EUI, to which she always remained very fondly attached. Jackie was one of the first British researchers to take her Ph.D. here in the Law Department on 25 March 1985 under the supervision of Prof. Klaus Hopt on the topic "The Regulation of Insider Dealing in Britain and France".

The prize was first awarded in 2009 and again in June 2012.

External Prizes and Awards

  • Edoardo Ruffini Prize (Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei) - Maria Grazia Porcedda (Law LLM 2011)
  • Second prize for a best thesis on EU law (ELFA Thesis Award 2014) - Vesco Paskalev (Law PhD 2010)

Past Prizes and Awards

Page last updated on 03/06/2024

Go back to top of the page