Academic careers in Belgium


Higher Education in Belgium

Belgium is a federation of three communities, each with its own legislative council and government. The Dutch-speaking North is home to the Flemish Community, which covers about 6 million inhabitants, living in Flanders and Brussels. The Southern part of Belgium is called Wallonia and is French-speaking. There is also a very small German-speaking community on the Eastern border.

The three communities in Belgium have obtained autonomy on a number of important issues, with education as the major one. Consequently, the structure of the educational systems differs.


Page last updated on 17 August 2017

Back to top