Skip to content

Former Prizes

  • The Jacqueline Suter Prize for the Best Doctoral Thesis in European Law

This Prize was generously sponsored on a personal basis by the friends and colleagues at the European Court of Justice on behalf of the late Dr. Jacqueline Suter, who met her untimely death on 19 February 2009. Jackie worked for many years as a Head of Division at the ECJ. It is the wish of those who knew her in Luxembourg that her name should be commemorated here at the EUI, to which she always remained very fondly attached. She was one of the first British researchers to take her Ph.D. in the EUI Law Department on 25 March 1985 under the supervision of Prof. Klaus Hopt on the topic “The Regulation of Insider Dealing in Britain and France”.

The prize was awarded in 2009 and in 2012. The prize winners were:

2009: Gracia Marin Duran, Law Department

2012: Sacha M. M. Garben, Law Department

  • The François Mény Prize for the Best Comparative Study of Political Institutions

This Prize was made possible thanks to the generosity of the former EUI President Yves Mény who set it up in memoriam of his son, François.

The Prize was awarded one time in 2010 for the best EUI thesis analysing political institutions in a comparative way. It had a value of 2.000 Euro. The winner of the Prize was Christopher Hanretty of the SPS Department.

  • The Prize for the Best Thesis in EU Integration (2015-2016)

The EUI decided to award a special prize for the best thesis in EU integration, to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the signing of the Rome Treaties.

Each department nominated a thesis defended by an EUI researcher between 1 January 2015 and 31 December 2016.

The prize winner was Haakon A. Ikonomou, Department of History and Civilization. He received the Prize on 9 June 2017 at the EUI's annual conferring ceremony.

  • Alumni Prize for Best Thesis

In 2004, the Alumni Association decided to fund a prize for the best interdisciplinary Ph.D. thesis on a relevant European issue. The Alumni Prize was conferred every two years during the EUI Degree Conferring Ceremony.

The prize winner was selected by a Jury composed of four members representing the EUI disciplines and who were all Alumni and distinguished scholars in their fields. The Jury Chairman was chosen among former EUI Professors.

Each Department nominated the best thesis on a topic with interdisciplinary relevance in its field and the Jury selected a winner from among these nominations.

The prize consisted of €3,000, and a diploma and medal designed by the Florentine artist Onofrio Pepe, known for his exhibitions on 'Il mito di Europa' (The Myth of Europe). The other nominees were awarded a diploma for having won the contest within their respective Departments. 

The prize was awarded in 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2010. In 2012, no Alumni prize was awarded. The prize winners were:

2004: Harm Schepel, Ph.D. 2003, Department of Law

2006: Valérie Hayaert, Ph.D. 2005, Department of History and Civilization

2008: Yannis Karagiannis, Ph.D. 2007, Department of Political and Social Sciences

2010: Christopher John Hanretty, Ph.D. 2009, Department of Political and Social Sciences

Page last updated on 10 March 2023

Go back to top of the page