Skip to content

Robert Schuman Centre Chairs

Leading research and policy outreach on European economic and monetary integration and energy.

The Robert Schuman Centre is home to a number of Chairs, which contribute to the research and policy outreach of the Centre on topical fields such as European economic and monetary integration and energy.

Named in memory of leading personalities in the respective fields, the Chairs contribute high quality research and inspire ideas to the lively academic community of the Robert Schuman Centre as well as to the international debate, bridging the gap between academia and the world of practice.


Pierre Werner Chair (2002 - today)

Chair Holder: Professor Giancarlo Corsetti

Named after one of the architects of the Economic and Monetary Union, the Pierre Werner Chair focuses on research in macroeconomic theory, policy, and institutional design related to the monetary union.

Pierre Werner Chair

Loyola de Palacio Chair (2008-today)

Chair holder: Professor Leonardo Meeus (Director Florence School of Regulation, EUI)

The Loyola de Palacio Chair on Energy conducts high-quality research on energy economics, law, regulation, and geopolitics, with a focus on EU energy policy and is connected to the Florence School of Regulation.

Loyola de Palacio chair

Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa Chair (2014-today)

Chair Holder: Professor Marco Buti

The programme of the Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa Chair focuses on the European economic and monetary integration, on the analytical challenges and policy responses of international macroeconomics and finance in Europe.

Tommaso Padoa Schioppa chair conf

Ernst B. Haas Chair (2020-today)

Chair Holder: Professor Daniele Caramani (Director of the European Governance and Politics Programme)

Created in 2020, the Ernst B. Haas Chair conducts research on politics on intersection between the national, European and global level.

Ernst B Haas Chair

Page last updated on 07/11/2023

Go back to top of the page