Villa Salviati

VillaSalviatiVilla Salviati has a long and rich history which can be traced back to the Middle Ages. Perched in the Florentine hills, it was originally part of fortifications along the Mugnone river, before being transformed into a palace with extensive agricultural lands attached.

The current layout dates back to the beginning of the sixteenth century, when the villa was home to the wealthy and influential Salviati family. Successive generations of Salviati were residents at the villa between 1490 and 1794. Over the centuries, it housed great art and great people, from the infamous Medici to Pope Leo X and Garibaldi. It was plundered and burned during the Medici banishment and carefully renovated, generation after generation, to keep up with the fashions of house and garden.

After the Salviati era, the villa experienced a notable era as a political hub for supporters of the Risorgimento. However, from the mid-nineteenth century onwards, it changed hands many times. Apart from a brief spell during WWII when the building gave shelter to local Florentines and a great deal of valuable artwork, Villa Salviati was neglected and largely inaccessible to the public.

In 2000, the Italian state purchased the villa to house the Historical Archives of the European Union (HAEU). Today the immaculately restored building and gardens are also home to the European University Institute’s Law and History Departments and the Academy of European Law.

 

Villa Salviati (HAEU)


Via Bolognese 156 - 50139 Firenze

Tel. [+39] 055 4685 620

 

Please note: car access from Via Salviati 3 only (see detailed info here

Villa Salviati (LAW & HEC)


Via Bolognese 156 - 50139 Firenze

Tel. [+39] 055 4686 472

 

Page last updated on 26 April 2021

Back to top